Previous Productions

The Scottsboro Boys (Winter 2020)

Nominated for 12 Tony Awards ®, The Scottsboro Boys is the ninth annual Beck Center for the Arts Collaboration. Based on the Scottsboro Boys’ trial. Set in the framework of a Vaudeville show, and a show within a show, with big musical numbers ranging from flashy and exuberant to mournful and delicate that will feed your soul. Like Cabaret, this musical creates a dynamic social critique.

Music and Lyrics by John Kander & Fred Ebb
Book by David Thompson
Directed & Choreographed by Jon Martinez
Original Direction & Choreography by Susan Stroman
Presented by special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI)

“’Scottsboro’ contains what might be the most beautiful song they (Kander & Ebb) wrote — ‘Go Back Home,’ a mournful ballad of longing enough to bring to tears anyone who ever has been away and in trouble”   -Chicago Tribune

Presented with the support of FGI Foundation, a supporting foundation of Jewish Federation of Cleveland, Francine M. Gordon, Trustee

Cast of Characters
Interlocuter - Greg Violand*
Mr. Bones/Electrified Charlie/Attorney General - Nick Drake+
Mr. Tambo/Electrified Isaac/Samuel Leibowitz - Charles Mayhew Miller+
The Lady - RhonniRose Mantilla+
Olen Montgomery - Gordia Hayes+
Andy Wright/Haywood u/s - Marcus Martin+
Eugene Williams/Mr. Tambo u/s - Jahir Hipps+
Haywood Patterson - Anthony Harris+
Clarence Norris/Mr. Bones u/s - Elijah Dawson+
Ozie Powell/Ruby Bates - Tavon Olds-Sample+
Roy Wright - Brinden Harvey+
Charlie Weems/Victoria Price - Javar Parker*
Willie Roberson/Dance Captain - Savannah Cooper+

*Actor appears courtesy of the Actors' Equity Association (AEA)
+Actor is an Equity Member Candidate (EMC)

Keyboard 1/Conductor - Matthew Webb
Keyboard 2 - Lindsay Miller
Trumpet - Juan Ingram
Trombone - Kent Cleland
Percussion - Andrew Pongracz
Violin - Sarah Becker
Guitar - Michael Simile

Production Staff
Artistic Director - Scott Spence
Director & Choreographer - Jon Martinez
Music Director - Matthew Webb
Production Stage Manager - Jack-Anthony Ina
Assistant Stage Manager - Rachel Alloway
Technical Director - Mark DeVol
Associate Technical Director - Tim Chrisman
Scenic Designer - Jordan Janota
Lighting Designer - Steve Shack
Costume Designer - Susanne Houstle
Sound Designer - Carlton Guc
Associate Costume Designer - Ryan Ginter
A1 Sound (Sound Board Operator) - Brittany Ozanich, Angie Hayes
A2 Sound (Sound Assistant) - John Russell
Assistant Music Director - Lindsay Miller
Associate Choreographer - Andrew Nelin
Costumer/Wardrobe - Betty Pitcher
Carpenters and Paints - Simon Sedmak, Megan Mingus
Master Electrician/Electrics - Tim Chrisman, Arwen Dorsey
Follow Spot Operators - Mary Kahelin, Julia Aylward, Hayley Baran